top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

I Review: Fellows Slicks & Stiffeners Beard Oil

About a month ago I was contacted by a company on twitter. A company I mentioned in my last blog piece, that focus on naturally made grooming products for men. Their name is Fellows Slicks & Stiffeners. The pleasantries were exchanged and they asked me if I would like to try their products. I agreed and thanked them for their generosity. A week or so later I receive a delivery containing FOUR different beard oils- Autumn Warmth, Winter Chill, Citrus Forest and Sweet Vanilla. I was looking forward to trying them out as they looked the part, could they also do the job? I used each scent for a couple of days and here are my thoughts.



Autumn Warmth


This oil has the smell most stereotypical to beard oils. A ‘lumberjack in the forest’ is the best way I can describe it, thanks to the cedar wood and rose wood ingredients. It’s a real success story is that my wife, who normally can’t stand the ‘woody’ oils, really liked this one. I agree with her when she says it’s more subtle than others. A great oil for beard growers who prefer a manlier scent.



Winter Chill


The first word that came to my mind when I tried this oil was ‘minty’. When I say that I don’t want you to think of toothpaste. Think of that sensation you get when you first bite down on a strong mint. It’s initially powerful in a refreshing way and quickly settles into a soothing scent. I found this oil slightly thicker than the other three in terms of consistency.



Citrus Forest


The Citrus Forest beard oil smells clean, fresh and slightly fruity. This oil would be best used during Spring and Summer. The essence of lime stands out and is very different to what I expect in a beard oil. It isn’t too overbearing, just enough citrus to convince me the sun would be making an appearance soon.



Sweet Vanilla


This is the one of the four oils that caused me problems writing this blog piece. Not because I didn’t like it but for the complete opposite reason- I like it so much I couldn’t stop using it and it was only the second one I tried, meaning two other fragrances had to wait their turn for longer than planned. This was my favourite of the four. There is a negative association with vanilla- plain, flavourless, bland, just a bit “blah". I, however, cannot find a negative thing to say about this beard oil. The smell is beautiful and modest, not overbearing and seemed to be the most female friendly. It felt the nicest on my skin, softer than a beard oil I had tried before, yet still having a strong impact on my hairs.




Judging Fellows Slicks & Stiffeners by the products they presented me with, I’d say it is a company with the potential to go very far. I was impressed with all of the oils for different reasons and liked the fact they have been made with 100% natural ingredients and been given imaginative fragrances instead of playing it safe with variations of ‘wood smells’. I wouldn’t dissuade anyone from picking one oil over another as each person, beard and skin type is different. There is something in this range to suit everyone. If you asked me to choose a favourite though, I’d have to go with the Sweet Vanilla. From the moment I first opened the bottle I loved it, so much that I have bought some for my fellow beard growing Father-In-Law. Oh, I have thought of one negative thing to say about it actually. The sample wasn’t big enough!



Whilst I was trying out these great oils, Fellows have announced a rebrand and soon to be released range of shaving products. My personal opinion is “Why do men want to shave?!” but for those that do, you need a good quality product to do it with. From the looks of things, their razors will be as good as their oils so please make sure you give their website a visit and their Twitter account a Follow.

Website: http://fellowseg.bigcartel.com

Twitter: @FellowsSlicks

Oils.jpg
bottom of page