top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

I Review: The Brighton Beard Company


This review can be made thanks to a love. The Brighton Beard Company is a successful creation from couple Lloyd & Jessica, who started making a beard-care range after failing to find a decent product for Lloyd's own facial fuzz.

Something I first noticed and really like about these products is the thought process that goes with them, the individual product names, for example. Inspiration is taken from their location on the south coast of England when it comes to the names (I am informed that they come from local and lawless smugglers, moonshiners and best loved villains from around the East Sussex area- "Each with their own anecdote based on true stories, mostly consisting of a whole lot of mischief and misfortune, we like to imagine these sea scoundrels to have wild, gnarly beards"). The goods that I feel fortunate to have tried are Creampot Tom's Beard Balm, Old Joll's Black Pepper & Grapefruit Beard Oil and Jevington Jigg's Moustache & Beard Wax.

Old Joll's Black Pepper & Grapefruit Beard Oil

The oil is the first of the products I tried. I have used plenty of different beard oils and smelt many different scents, some good and some bad. Now I had never thought of a Black Pepper & Grapefruit combination and once I saw that on the bottle I was intrigued (and if I'm completely honest, a little sceptical) about how good it would be. I was pleasantly suprised. Many oils with a fruit based flavour end up being too "fruity" and feminine smelling, like having an air freshener strapped to your chin. This one, though, is very discreet and smooth. With only a couple of drops from the pippet, you feel the benefit of the oil without smelling like a fruit stall.

Creampot Tom's Beard Balm

This was my personal favourite of the 3 products I tried. As soon as I opened the tin I felt like I was stood on Brighton beach. There was a noticeable scent of the sea and a feeling of sea salt between my fingers, perfect for a nautical themed brand. Unlike a lot of balms I have used, this one warms in your hands quickly and can be easily applied. Just a small amount is needed for great effect, nourishing the face and taming any wild, disobedient hairs. A bonus for me is that the Shea Butter base means this balm will be great for your skin as well as your beard.

Jevington Jigg's Moustache & Beard Wax

I struggled to find a moustache wax that balanced a strong hold with a soft feel when in my beard. Without the ability to hold the hair into a desired position it is pointless. Yet if a strong hold is created by needing to use a lot of the product and making my face feel heavy or sticky, I won't use it. This wax seems to have found the perfect combination. The hold is the best I have ever experienced in a moustache wax, just a tiny amount keeping my hairs in place all day. The beeswax is the perfect ingredient and is complimented by a very subtle fragrance (something I prefer as it is being used directly under the nose so too strong a scent would be unbearable in my opinion). Considering the competence of the wax, the size of the tub means you will not run out quickly, a huge bonus considering the low price.

Each product from The Brighton Beard Company is handmade with 100% natural ingredients, "carefully chosen for their beard benefits and their impeccable fragrance". They are very reasonably priced and, if all used together, provide everything you need to sport a groomed, stylish, healthy beard. Gift sets are available that come in a cool hand crafted bag, so you can experience the whole range and save some money all at the same time.

***

On top of their excellent product making skills, Lloyd and Jessica also pay homage to top growers with their 'Beard Of The Day' blog posts. They definitely know what they are talking about, as BOTD No 26 would suggest!

bottom of page