top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

Beards- Curiouser & Curiouser

I went out last Friday night for a few beers and something happened that got me thinking. As I walked up to the bouncer at the door of the pub, he asked me for I.D. Now I’m not one of those people that when asked to prove their age reacts with pure disgust. So what?! I’ve now reached that age when being mistaken for a 20 year old would be more of a compliment seeing as I’m a matter of months away from the thirties. Anyway, I got my driving license out from my wallet and presented it to this brick wall of a man. As he took a look at my date of birth he said, “Sorry mate, get a lot of lads growing beards to look older these days”. I accepted his apology and strutted inside with the vigour of the teenager he temporarily suspected me of being. His comment stuck with me, though, and got me pondering the pedestal on which beards are currently placed.


I have conversations with my friends, work colleagues and many MANY drunken strangers about my beard. “How long has it taken to grow that long?”, “Does it not annoy you?” ('About a year' and 'not half as much as being asked that question every weekend'). I am part of a bearded community on Twitter and I am sure they get the same attention, good and bad. Some lads are extremely complimentary about my beard and genuinely want to know about it. This does still surprise me but I oblige and they are interested in how much effort goes into making the beard what it is. Others (usually the ones that look fresh out of Chavs-ville with faces that haven’t sprouted one single facial hair) feel the need to say or shout out insults. I’m sure all my bearded brothers will agree that “Wahey, look it’s Jesus!” and “Santa when he was younger!” cut real deep purely for their originality. I feel for these guys as not only are they unfunny but also not man enough to grow a beard themselves, meaning they basically aren’t men. Being originally from the London Suburbs, I also find it very amusing when I return there and visit a local pub. The same seats are filled by the same faces, only 5 years wrinklier. The confused and seemingly pissed off look on their face when I walk through the door is the one normally saved for when the new 18 year old barman doesn’t know what to pour when told “I’ll have my usual."


The other attention that seems to have increased since growing my beard is from women. Now I’m not beating them off with a stick when walking to the shops or anything like that but, when on a night out, girls come up to me more now I have my furry face. Of course I thank them for their interest, politely decline their advances and show the gold band on my left ring finger before continuing my night. It does make me think, however, that considering the attention I received from the fairer sex pre-beard that women are all about the facial fuzz. Is it just a latest fashion statement? Or have beards been hiding away in the shadows, only for the spotlight to now shine fully on them?



I asked one of my bearded brothers on Twitter, Dan Regan, for his opinion. I chose Dan to help me out for two reasons; 1. He has a fine beard and 2. He seems to be VERY popular with the ladies and is single to boot.



HI DAN. HOW LONG HAVE YOU HAD YOUR BEARD?


I have had my beard for just over 5 months now.



BEING A FOLLOWER OF YOURS ON TWITTER, I SEE THAT YOU GET A FAIR AMOUNT OF ATTENTION FROM THE OPPOSITE SEX. IS YOUR BEARD THE ICE BREAKER?


Yeah the beard can be an ice breaker, I get a few comments while I’m on nights out. I also get people wanting to touch it, that tends to start up a conversation!



ARE WOMEN AS FORWARD IN REAL LIFE AS THEY ARE ON TWITTER AND HAS YOUR ATTRACTION FOR THE LADIES INCREASED SINCE GROWING THE BEARD?


They are definitely more forward on Twitter, some of the messages I get on there are pretty forward to say the least! They can be forward on a night out, though, if they like the beard look. Being from Essex, the bearded look is not really an ‘in' thing here, it tends to be a more clean cut look so that type of female is hard to come across (unlucky for me!).


I've definitely received more attention since growing a beard, yeah. Most of the time it's the type of women that are my type, which is good. I’m not sure what they would think if the beard was to go!



DO YOU THINK THE INCREASE IN BEARD GROWERS OUT THERE IS DUE TO BEARDS BECOMING THE LATEST FASHION ACCESSORY (ARE BEARDED MEN JUST GETTING MORE ATTENTION OR A GUYS GROWING BEARDS JUST BECAUSE IT’S THE TREND?


I think it's 50/50 to be honest, there will always be those people growing them just because its the ‘in' thing so it will be interesting to see how many people keep them when it's not as popular I guess. Personally, I grew mine because I fancied a change and to try to stand out from the crowd.



YOU SAY YOU’RE FROM ESSEX. IF THAT ISN’T THE STYLE THERE YOU MUST STAND OUT. DO YOU RECEIVE MUCH NEGATIVE ATTENTION FROM GUYS CONSIDERING IT’S NOT THE NORMAL LOOK IN YOUR AREA?


I mean, obviously I'm not the only guy In Essex with a beard but there's not loads on a night out or around during the day really.


No there’s not really negative comments. Guys are pretty cool, I often get them coming up and asking me about it or just want to shake my hand! Any negative comments I get are mostly from twitter and sometimes joking about from friends or family.


*****


To try and figure out why beards have become the latest craze I also spoke with the people that know what a good beard looks like and how to achieve it- Erin & Jack from Pall Mall Barbers.


HI GUYS. HAS THERE BEEN AN INCREASE IN THE NUMBER OF BEARDS COMING IN TO THE SHOP?


Erin: We have seen a definite increase of bearded men booking in with us. I believe seeing celebrities shun the 'clean shaven' look and trying out facial hair has made it seem more acceptable to the general public to sport beards in any manner they choose.


Jack: Definitely within the last year- 2013 was the 'Year of the Beard'. Also, the scope of people trying beards out is great, from Bankers to Actors to blue collar workers.



DO PEOPLE HAVE A LOOK THEY ARE AFTER, LIKE WITH HAIRCUTS, AND USE CELEBRITIES AS EXAMPLES?


Erin: On the whole, most men come in to see us to get an idea of what would suit their face shape, go with their clothing style or something tailored to their individual personality. This is exactly the way that I had designed Jeremy Piven's beard for his character Mr Selfridge; a few questions on the time period, clothing and his own personal preference.


Jack: A popular choice of celebrity beard envy is Ricki Hall. The majority of people I see have a picture of him to refer to, not only the beards but the slick back/parting hair to complement the beard.


Erin: We do like it when people bring in a picture of a beard they want and we have a lot of fun recreating some famous facial hair, for example Tony Stark's 'Ironman' beard or Rampage Jackson's 'BA Barracus'- that beard was hilarious!


Jack: David Beckham's Edwardian moustache, Lemmy's Chops and Brad Pitt are always popular choices too.



ANY TIPS/RECOMMENDATIONS FOR BEARD GROWERS ON HOW TO ACHIEVE THEIR DESIRED LOOK?


Jack: To maintain a healthy beard it takes a certain amount of commitment. Regular trims are recommended to get rid of any split ends and keep the beard shapely. Shampoo and condition your beard (yes you can use your girlfriend's fancy bottles) to keep the beard hair clean, healthy and strong. The conditioner will soften the beard, leaving it a bit more manageable.


Erin: Beard Oil is probably the main thing I recommend to my customers. I know most retailers/barbers will tell you to apply the oil when your beard is dry (this will leave your beard looking shinier) but all it really does is coat the hair. To achieve actual changes in softness and health, apply the oil when your beard is wet (preferably after a shower). The oil will work its way into the hair as it dries and will soften & condition the beard from the inside out.



WHY ARE BEARDS SO POPULAR ALL OF A SUDDEN?


Jack: It may be that the older/vintage styles are coming back into fashion. When Beckham sported the Edwardian moustache it exploded into street fashion. I think the beard is back due to the Sailor/Tattoo "Manly Man" fashion upsurge. It's a no-nonsense, straight forward style with natural beards that contrast with the high and tight extremely clean cut hairstyles.


Erin: I actually have no idea why it has taken so long for men to get in to a beard craze. Women spend hundreds of pounds on makeovers and accessories yet men have a free accessory available to change their look from week to week! Also, one of the main complaints I hear from my customers is the 'chore' of shaving at home every morning with the ensuing rash and razor burn that goes along with it. I'm surprised it has taken as long as it has for men to reclaim the beard.


*****




So there it is. Bearded men have been there all along, they've just not been popular. Style, however, has changed in the past year or two and bewhiskered gentlemen across the land are the centre of attention. Will this fascination last? Only time will tell. What is for certain is that right now girls love them, guys are envious of them and Erin & Jack make them bloody beautiful to look at.




To see more of Dan's incredible beard or to get the masters to sculpt yours, check them out on Twitter:


Dan: @danregan90 (previously @dregan90)

Jack: @MrBabyElvis

Erin: @BettyBunn

bottom of page